## THE PRESIDENT

Ken Thomson was elected President of the Club at the 2000 AGM, in succession to Richard Shirreffs. He is a third-generation member, following his grandfather James Lyon (member 1920 - 1932) and his father Angus Thomson (1940 - 1994). His early interest in the hills came from family holidays at Muir and the Aberdeen Grammar School Hill-Walking Club, and at the University he was Secretary of the Lairig Club. Leaving Aberdeen in the 1960s, he maintained his activities from Edinburgh, London and then Newcastle, with trips to the Alps and regular forays north to garner Munros, completing them in 1989. Joining the Club on return to Aberdeen in the 1980s, he soon became active in its administration, as Committee member 1991-94 and 1995-97, and Vice President 1997-2000. His profession as a rural economist gives him an especial interest in land-use issues, and he has been particularly concerned with the Club's environmental business.